Hello My Name Is…

I feel like I am wearing a sticky name tag on my shirt and I am in a room of people that I do not know. Wait! For the most part I am! First off, welcome to my website. Second, my name is Lindsay and I am very excited to get to know my fellow classmates and professors in the following weeks to come.

These first weeks has been an exciting, yet terrifying experience for me. Not having family in Ontario, and never having been this province, decided long ago that I was going to dive back into school. I come from Calgary, Alberta where the summers are dry, and the snow occasionally melts throughout the winter. I find that the only thing I have talked about when meeting new people in London is the weather! Sorry, I cannot seem to help myself, or get over how humid it is here! Everyone in London as well as my classmates, so far, have been extremely nice, despite my social awkwardness 🙂

I received my Bachelor of Arts in History with Honours from Mount Royal University in Calgary. I have been in the library field for about 5 years now. I have worked for both rural and urban library systems, the most recent being at Calgary Public Library.

I am looking forward to the journey ahead during my stint at Western University!  Ultimately, this site will showcase my experiences as I navigate the MLIS program, chronicle my time in London, talking about nerdy things, maybe even offer some book recommendations!

Once you get to know me, you will determine that I am a huge nerd as I clearly chose to use the summon charm from Harry Potter as part of my site name (Slytherin represent!) Come seek me out my fellow nerds and we shall bask in all things that are nerdy!

Good luck everyone and take care.

Leave a comment